Cooperation FOM | Education Project Scholarship FOM | Education Project

Science Award FOM | Education Project

Since 2010, FOM graduates who have written an outstanding thesis in the field of law have been awarded annually. Since 2015, the prize for bachelor's and master's theses with a corporate law theme has been awarded by the THORWART-JESKA-STIFTUNG in cooperation with THORWART Lawyers Tax Consultants Auditors Partnership.

"The Academic Award for Corporate Law is intended not only to inspire students, but also to reward them for special achievements," emphasizes Prof. Dr. Seeling, Professor of Business Law at the FOM University of Applied Sciences and lawyer at THORWART.

A jury assesses the papers according to the criteria of taking up current case law and legislation on corporate law topics, critical reflection as well as pointing out practice-oriented solution scenarios or options for action.

The winner will receive a prize of 1,000 euros. In addition, the thesis will be published in the Economics Forum of FOM by Shaker Verlag. The award ceremony will take place as part of the lecture series " Medium-sized Businesses Forum Corporate Law" at the FOM University Study Center Nuremberg.

Admission requirements

  • Bachelor or Master student or graduate of the FOM University.
  • The thesis has a subject-related reference to corporate law.
  • Overall grade of the final thesis: at least 1.3.
  • Consent to the publication of the thesis.
  • Award will be given to final theses from the previous calendar year.


The sponsor of the award is the THORWART-JESKA-FOUNDATION in cooperation with THORWART Lawyers Tax Consultants Auditors Partnership. There is a close cooperation between the law firm THORWART and the FOM University. 

Source: FOM

Award ceremony in Nuremberg: (from left to right) Prof. Dr. Rolf Otto Seeling, Kerstin Thorwart, Maren Kroll, Prof. Dr. Harald Kupfer and Rainer Schröder (Photo: Ianicelli/FOM)

FOM Absolventin Maren Kroll untersuchte die Verpflichtungen von Unternehmensverkäufern und -käufern und erhielt für ihre Leistung den Wissenschaftspreis Gesellschaftsrecht (Foto: Ianicelli/FOM)

Prof. Dr. Rolf Otto Seeling, Simon Wild-Bogner, Kerstin Thorwart sowie FOM Geschäftsleiter Rainer Schröder (v.l.), Foto: FOM

Kerstin Jeska-Thorwart presents FOM graduate Robert Weinhold with the Science Award for Corporate Law. Further people congratulating him: FOM Chancellor Dr. Harald Beschorner and Prof. Dr. Rolf Otto Seeling (r.) Photo: FOM/Iannicelli

FOM graduate Maren Kroll received the Corporate Law Academic Award for her achievement (Photo: Ianicelli/FOM)